Turkey Breast Cutlets

So, we’re eating a lot of turkey and chicken now that I’ve finally forced been able to get my darling Mr. G to eat better.  Last night, I thawed some turkey breast cutlets out, and decided to try a little marinade.  I put the cutlets in a plastic bag, added about two tablespoons of olive oil, some oregano, 5 cloves of chopped garlic, the juice of a lemon, and some fresh cracked black pepper.  I let it sit for half an hour (it was a quick marinade) and then poached it in half a can of low fat low sodium chicken broth.  Once the turkey was done, I thickened it with a smide of flour to make a quick gravy.  We each had one of the cutlets (the other two are in the fridge for lunch today).  For sides, I sliced an onion and two small potatoes and put them in a Glad steamer bag with some cracked pepper and a tsp. of Promise Light and steamed them in the microwave for 8 minutes.  I also opened a good old can of green beans.  Yummy.  And Mr. G ate it without dumping hot sauce on it.   A definite score!

You can see from below that I’ve joined the Biggest Loser’s Pound for Pound challege.  For each pound you lose between now andMay, they will donate a pound of food to your local food bank.  I pledged to lose 30 pounds by May.  I definitely think its doable.  I just need to stick with eating better, and get back to exercizing.  I’m a little worried about the exercizing part – I’m terrified that my knee will give on me.  I still have issues with it when I’m walking to fast, or taking steps up and down.  The surgeon says I’ll always have that.  And no running.  Ever.  Since he had to drill into my femur during the surgery, he told me nothing but low impact for the rest of my life.  I’ll figure something out.  I have some low impact tapes, and my gazelle that I need to get out and dust off.

My first weigh in will be Monday.  Wish me luck!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. allysther
    Jan 08, 2009 @ 15:35:16

    Dinner sounds great. Good luck on the diet.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

