Spanish Update

So, I looked into Rosetta Stone, and then I gasped at the price.  For the package for Spanish 1, 2, and 3, it was over $500.  They wanted $90 for it on Craig’s List, but they admitted the CDs had been purchased as burned CDs and I didn’t want to take any chances with that.

I did a little search online at Consumer Reports and found then ratings of some top Spanish Language software.  I found some really good ratings for a program called Total Spanish Immersion.  Online price from the factory was $40.00, but a buyer had it on ebay, brand new, in the packaging, for $29.95 with free shipping, so I bit.  I bought it with my paypal so I’d have some protection if it didn’t work, or was crappy, or whatever.  Plus, the ebay seller takes returns, no questions asked.  Apparently it has everything but the language recognition that Rosetta Stone has, and I’m ok with that to save over $500.

I think it will be good for me to learn Spanish.  Mr. G is going to relearn as well, but I know it will be easier for him.  Afterall, Spanish was his first language until he was 8, and he picks it up pretty fast when he’s around his hispanic friends, or some of his family.  Mostly he speaks Spanglish though, so we’ve decided that we’re going to relearn.  I think if we use this software, we’ll try to speak it at home a couple of nights a week so we don’t get rusty.  The nice thing about the program is that it has conversational spanish as well, which will be really helpful.

So, add another thing on my laundry lists of things I am dedicating myself to this year.

In other news, I just scheduled a whole bunch of vacation days this summer to enjoy at our vacation place in VA.  I’m not taking any vacation time around the holidays this year – just this summer.  I think I’m going to enjoy having a lot of time off this summer.  Two full weeks plus a couple of days at the end of May, a couple long weekends in June, July and August.  Life will be good.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Shanthropology
    Feb 21, 2009 @ 18:55:27

    Please be sure to post an update once you’ve been using the program a while. I’d like to know how you like it. I too am interested in (re)learning Spanish for a possible career change.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

