Pound for Pound Challenge

You all probably know I’m a big fan of the Biggest Loser. Last year, when they first sponsored the Pound for Pound challenge, I pledged and actually came short of my goal. This year, I’ve decided to pledge again. 50 pounds. Yep – since I’m still in my honeymoon phase surgically, I’m going all out gang busters to lose 50 pounds by June 1, 2010. I’m losing about 20 pounds per month, so even if I slow down, I still think its doable.

For those of you who don’t know, if you want to, you can pledge to lose weight. For every pound you lose, they will donate one pound of food to your local food bank. This year, they even have it set up so that you can input your zip code and it will designate the food bank closest to you. For me, it’s the Maryland Food Bank, which I have donated to in the past.

Hunger is something I never ever want to experience. Bob and I have been lucky enough (knock on wood) to have a comfortable existance, although we’ve both been poor. Neither of us probably even realized it at the time. Now that we are comfortable, I want to do something to help others out who can’t afford decent meals for their families, or their children.

For those of you who have resolved to lose weight/get healthy/what have you, I think this is a great motivator. Wish me luck! And if you want to sign up, you can go to the Pound for Pound Challenge Website

Leave a Reply

