We Are So NOT Olympians

So, I’ve been using my Wii Fit for over a month now every morning – about six days a week.  I usually rest on Thursdays, just because my exercise therapist (how does one get that job, anyway?) said it’s best to allow the old muscles to rest a rebuild once a week.

I’ve been bugging Bob about the fact that his only idea of exercise lately is bicep curls.  1.  Pick up food.  2.  Bend Elbow.  3.  Stick food in mouth.  He claims he’s hibernating for the winter…you know, building up that warm extra layer of body fat.

I don’t get on Bob about his weight, because of the whole people, glass houses and stones thing.  But I do worry about his health now that he’s in his 50s.  I worry about his developing diabetes, or heart problems, so I’ve been gently nudging him (prodding him, begging him) to watch what he eats more, and of course, try exercising.

Now, Bob is an outdoor guy.  No doubt about it.  We love to walk when its warm.  We have bikes.  We love to get outside and be active – for as active as two fat people like to get.  And up until this year, we happily couched it together in the winter time, hiding inside until temperatures got over 50 degrees again.

But I figured the Wii would be a fun way for us to get exercise, and I have enjoyed using it.  I generally put in 45 to 60 minutes a day, and burn approximately 300 calories.  And I thought maybe, just maybe, if I billed it as a video game, Bob might try it.

Well, tonight he did.

And hilarity ensued.

I have learned now…my darling, wonderful, loving husband…not so athletically coordinated.  Which is surprising – since he actually did fence in college, and he played football and wrestled. 

Tonight, he decided to give it  a shot, so we hooked him up.  He was immediately insensed by the fact that the Wii Board told him he was obese.  And it made his Mii fat.  So Bob flipped off his Mii.

Then we moved on to the actual Training.  First, we tried the rhythm boxing.  Something I do every day becuase it’s a calorie burner.  And I figured it would be relatively easy for him.

Yeah…not so much.  He couldn’t quite get the whole right left punch step thing down.

So we moved on.

And we tried the easy basic run.  He started to jog around the room, and literally within minutes, his face got red and I was rolling around on the floor, desparately trying not to laugh at the fact that his poor Mii kept falling on his face.

Needless to say, Bob’s little Mii was not exactly whistling as he ran.  Neither was poor Bob.

We gave up after 12 minutes.  Not 12 minutes of exercising…12 minutes of using the Wii. 

I think I’ll let him just do his couch exercises until the weather gets warmer, but the entertainment was well worth it…at least for me…for a little while.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bluzdude
    Feb 25, 2010 @ 14:11:50

    My suggestion? Try the basic Wii sports package, with bowling/baseball/tennis/boxing. Let me tell you, the boxing is a workout. And it satisfies a guys need for competition (and punching things.)

    The other games are fun too, and they get you off the couch. But I highly recommend alternating hands for things like bowling and tennis, or else when you’re done, your right arm and left butt cheek will hurt. And you will end up lopsidedly fit.

    Reply

    • goldeygrad97
      Feb 25, 2010 @ 16:11:36

      I am not sure after last night I will get him to actually try it again – perhaps not controlling my laughter was a bad move on my part…

      And I hate it when one butt cheek is more fit than the other…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

