Paula Deen…You Are The Devil

This woman…I don’t know how she doesn’t weight 4,857,740 pounds.

Since I promised Bluz I’d make him cookies for bailing me out in a sticky situation last week, I decided to try a new recipe.  Paula Deen’s Five Layer Bars.

Of course, I couldn’t use Bluz as my guinea pig, so I used my husband.  I made some tweaks to the recipe.  For my husband’s batch, I made them with vanilla wafer crumbs instead of the graham cracker crumbs  He also requested that instead of butterscotch chips, I use hershey’s mint chocolate chips.  So for his, I used one and a half cups of mint chocolate chips and half a cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips.  So, here’s what went in his…

2c of vanilla wafer crumbs mixed with half a cup of butter…

topped with 1 1/2 cups of mint chocolate chips

1/2 c of semi-sweet chocolate chips

1 cup of chopped pecans…

1 c. of shredded coconut

and a can of sweetened condensed milk

I baked them for 30 minutes and then had to keep Bob away from them for the next couple of hours.  When I finally let him have one, his eyes glazed over with glee and he started to twitch.  He said they taste like a thin mint macaroon.  He’s in love with the cookies.  I think even more than me.

When I made them for Bluz, I tweaked the recipe again…using 1c. of reeces peanut butter chips…

and a cup of the semi-sweet morsels in place of the 2 cups of chocolate morsels that I used in my husband’s recipe.

They definitely came out just as rich looking…but I guess time will tell how they really taste.

Come to the dark side…we have cookies.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bluzdude
    Jul 20, 2010 @ 13:21:13

    Product review;

    O.M.G.

    That’s all I can get out in the midst of this sugar coma.

    (“Hey bluz, it that coconut in your hair?”)

    Reply

  2. goldeygrad97
    Jul 20, 2010 @ 13:39:41

    Glad to see a good time was had by all. 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

