Childhood Rememberings

I was having a discussion with Bluz at work today over the email and we were talking about some of the cartoons we enjoyed but didn’t totally “get” as children.  It brought back memories of Saturdays as a kid waking up at the butt crack of dawn to park myself infront of the boob tube.

Some of my favorites:

Captain Noah and his Magical Ark – this was a show that was exclusive to the Philadelphia Area but it was on early in the morning on Saturdays.  I used to love to sing a rainbow with Captain Noah.

Chief Halftown was also a Philly Staple – he came on either before or after Captain Noah.  Loved him.  Was very sad when he passed away.

The Banana Splits – I don’t even remember what that freaking show was about, but I remember the theme song to this day.

Wacky Races – Dick Dastardly and Muttley were my favorites.  I will never forget when Muttley laughed.  When I get a bad cold and start coughing, I sound just like him.  Seriously.

Of course, Merry Melodies.  I loved Speedy Gonzales and Foghorn Leghorn.  I’m a chicken hawk, and I like chickens!

Rocky and Bullwinkle – Hey Rocky, wanna see me pull a rabbit out of my hat?

And my all time favorite…

The showed that introduced me to my obsession with horrible b-rated horror flicks such as Children Shouldn’t Play With Dead Things, The  Blob, and the ever popular, The StuffCreature Double Feature!  A Saturday staple in my house!  My sister and I might have fought over everything else, but we bonded over Creature Double Feature!  MWAHAHAHAHAH!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bluzdude
    Jan 20, 2011 @ 00:15:19

    Wow… deja vu!

    “Cartoons kick ass!” ~Eric Cartman~

    Reply

  2. bluzdude
    Jan 27, 2011 @ 00:22:07

    Hey, I wrote up our Snidely Whiplash conversation, like I threatened to…
    http://darwinfish2.blogspot.com/2011/01/carrying-toon.html

    Naturally, you come off looking like the voice of reason.

    Reply

  3. goldeygrad97
    Jan 27, 2011 @ 01:30:15

    W00T! I’m a superstar!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

